Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
abaonwan.over-blog.com

Testing, Waterfall, Agile, Mindset, Mainframe... - My thoughts

I'm new in Agile, you have more experience... does it mean you don't have to listen to me?

Mindset ... nice word... but I think experience grows by listening to the others wherever they come frome...

Mindset ... nice word... but I think experience grows by listening to the others wherever they come frome...

As I said in my first article, my customer has decided (end of last year) that Agile will be our new way of working...

I'm happy with this.

But... I have no experience with agile, as plenty of my colleagues.

So now, my Customer recruits more and more people having knowledge, experience within Agile driven projects.

On my point of view, it's great because I like to learn and of course, having experienced colleagues will help.

The issue I'm facing now, is that during meetings... they (the "experts") speak, speak, speak... our opinion? what we say? They don't care.

They have THE Truth...

I was not aware that there is only one way to do things... 

I don't say they are wrong, but before telling us we are wrong they should listen carefully to what we say. Maybe we say equivalent stuffs using different words but to understand this, they should first stop listening their own voice... 😊

Friday, I assisted to a meeting where two colleagues were arguing because one of them was using the term "strategy" and the other one was using the term "approach"...

They were discussing exactly about the same thing, using simply a different word... it leads to 5 minutes of discussion ending with "you understand nothing" coming from the agile "expert".

We must change our mindset because we come from Waterfall, but I think they should also modify their mindset to the current customer (understand the vocabulary used by the customer is a key) and they should respect the facilitator, moderator during the meetings.

I'm tired having to fight to be able to say one sentence during a meeting.

I'm tired seeing us having to fight with them because
- they don't care of what we say
- they feel offended because we don't share their opinions... (and again, they don't care about why)

 

Is it this the agile mindset?

 

Us ... Them...

They are words I hate to use...

We are part of the same team... 

I'm a defender of "one team, one goal, one vision", I like to listen respectfully to the other, I expect the same from them.

Of course, I will continue to learn, to work and speak with my colleagues (old and new) and my objective is to succeed in the transformation for me and my customer.

But it's exhausting...

Abaonwan

Partager cet article
Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article