Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
abaonwan.over-blog.com

Testing, Waterfall, Agile, Mindset, Mainframe... - My thoughts

Automation Challenge

As explained in my previous post, I followed "Automation in Testing" workshop during TestBash Brighton 2018.

It took me several weeks (more than 4) to digest all the information received during the 3 days and one day (a Sunday) I woke up with an idea about an "automation challenge" presentation to be done at my customer's place.

Why this title?

The title "Automation challenge" has multiple reasons...

- We are nowhere in automation so it's a real challenge to build something from scratch and on an environment & applications which are not easy (mainframe, products with multiple days of lifecycle)

- I also want to make it as a "game" / "contest" to motivate the squads members (mainly testers but open to all the ones who are interested in automation) giving their own ideas, approach, solutions, rules (there is only 2 rules which I've edicted - Safe place & Safe-to-fail)

- as they all need to speak, it's also a personal challenge for some of them who are really introvert or simply too shy

- for them it's also a difficult exercise, because in the past I was their Test Manager, meaning giving them the direction to follow, taking the décisions for them… Now, they have to drive...

- I just want to act as a facilitator, a support (with my developer background, my knowledge of the applications or with my contacts in the organization), a sponsor when needed, because I want them to build their automation (it's a challenge for me, because I like to be part of this kind of discussions :) )

The approach

The first part is a bit more theoretical...

- 5 differences game Part 1

Richard & Mark, I admit… I've stolen your idea :)

- Testing & checking

what's the difference between both? I act in two times, I let them trying to answer to the question before giving it...

- "Automation in testing" & "Test automation"

what's the difference between both? I act in two times, I let them trying to answer to the question before giving it... 

The answers are sometimes really funny like this one :

"Automation in Testing is bringing the automation in testing this way we can automate our tests" 

- TUTTU / TATTA

Testing… Testing Through...

- TRIMS

Targeted

Reliable

Informative

Maintainable

Speed

- SACRED

State

Algorithm

Codified Oracles

Reporting

Execution

Deterministic

- 5 differences game part 2

The approach is a bit different from the one used by Mark & Richard during the workshop as the attendees are not reading their own notes of part 1.

They exchange the notes with another attendee.

The idea for this light deviation comes from the first exercise done during the workshop about Exploratory Testing given by Dan & Mark.

And also as normally the part 2 is executed in an automated approach I though it would give better results.

- Conclusion about the 5 differences game

The second part is the introduction to the real challenge… (the "game")

The challenge

Last year we have defined topic called "NRT asset" (flows which have to work whatever the change in the applications) - can also be considered as Sanity Checks.

Based on the different concepts explained during this workshop, their knowledge of the applications, the lifecycle of the product, each attendee as to build his/her own automation approach proposal, and they have to present it to the group during the next workshop.

 

Presentation they have to do 

- needs to speak abouth the what, why, how, when (a kind of small automation strategy)

- cannot exceed 10 minutes;

- cannot mention any tool;

- they have to dare saying "I don't know" when they are blocked, no judgement coming from the other allowed… 

 

At the end of the second workshop, we vote based on the presentation done which approach we follow…

If the presentations don't give enough valuable information to do a vote (not yet occured), the goal is to brainstorm together.

 

The hardest part in the presentation is not the fact that it's timeboxed but the fact they cannot mention any toolname… The goal is to help them understanding the fact that the most important is to think before acting.

The next steps

For the two first squads who followed the first workshops :

Based on the chosen solution(s), we build a global approach during one or two workshops.

When the approach is clear, with two squads we've decided to continue working using 2 hours workshop in which all of us are only focused on the automation work.

For me

Continue to follow / assist / support the two first squads

Start the same worshops with other squads

 

Feedback received from the attendees

- the 5 différences game is a real great approach, it's fun (we disconnect from our day-to-day work) and it helps us understanding the risks behind automation;

- thanks to have improve our confidence in our work (we are testers and not checkers)

- thanks to accept that we say "I don't know"

- when is the next workshop, I'm so excited...

 

I don't only receive positive feedbacks… ;)

The only "negative" one which comes concerned the rules for the 5 difference games (unclear)… after the workshop I had the same concern, I understood my explanations were not clear enough so I'v already rewritten it...

 

Defintely I keep you posted about the progress of this approach but I'm sure we / they will build something great...

Partager cet article
Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article
R
RedFox Math utilizes College Board practice exams and other material and practice exams to make your training precise and efficient.So that you can easily crack the AcT test to take admission in universities.
Répondre